Leviathan – ‘True Traitor, True Whore’

Posted on 09/11/2011

1


As you will most likely have heard, Jeff Whitehead, aka Wrest, aka Leviathan has been in the news for a lot more than his music over the past few months, and it seems to me that the title of his new record, True Traitor, True Whore, may be somewhat related to ‘the incident’, which I will not go into. Anyway, I’ve yet to actually listen to this (like J, I have exams this week too, and black metal doesn’t exactly help my studying routines), but I’m a pretty big fan of his last record, Massive Conspiracy Against All Life, which is pretty much considered a modern BM classic now, so my expectations are high. However, the two songs I’ve actually heard off this from various other sources, ‘Contrary Pulse’ and ‘Blood Red and True’ sounded impressive to my ears. I liked the latter track in particular, a menacing seven minutes of hateful, primal metal, with Wrest’s feral, throat-searing vocals at the forefront. 2011 has been a good year for black metal (via Tombs, WITTR, Craft, etc.), so hopefully Leviathan’s set to make it even better.

Leviathan – True Traitor, True Whore

Download: (Mediafire)

– D –