Thee Oh Sees – ‘Carrion Crawler/The Dream’

Posted on 02/11/2011

0


I was never really a fan of California-based (duh) garage rockers Thee Oh Sees, but that changed when I heard ‘The Dream’, a cut off Carrion Crawler/The Dream, their second full-length of this year. Nearing seven minutes of driving, swaggering groove, the song bridges the gap between 70’s-ish psych rock and lo-fi punk, with its infectious, stonery riffs underlined by a hazy synth for added toker points. I’m not usually a fan of this kinda shit, but I just had my first listen of the album and I have to say it’s pretty great. They’re not reinventing the wheel by any means, but practically every song is a catchy, dirty garage anthem, which is exactly what I wanted after hearing ‘The Dream’. I plan on playing this while wearing the shit out of a leather jacket on my way to class tomorrow, because I know I’m gonna feel like the coolest fucker on earth. Be a rad dude and do the same.

Thanks to Alturn8tive for being a rad dude and hooking me up with the album.

Thee Oh Sees – Carrion Crawler/The Dream

Download: (Mediafire)

– D –