Elvis Depressedly – ‘Goner’

Posted on 04/10/2011

3


I’ve been on a Coma Cinema kick as of late, if you hadn’t already seen my post from the other day, and while it seems that for the time being Mat Cothran will not be recording under that name (the guy seems to be in a very bad place right now), he recently put out five songs as Elvis Depressedly, possibly the greatest recording title ever used. I was a little skeptical at first, but I was blown away upon listening to the EP, entitled Goner. Each song is as heartfelt and bleak as anything he’s put out under his previous moniker, and with lyrics like “scratch my leg with a rusty nail/sadly, it heals” (on ‘Die in the Summertime (R.J.E.)’), perhaps even more visceral and to the point. I’m honestly in love with this release, and I can’t pick a favourite track, every song is combines beauty and despair in the best possible manner, and all is presented in Cothran’s trademark somber, lo-fi ‘pop’. Goner is fucked up in the most glorious way, and I can’t wait to see what Cothran comes up with next, regardless of its title. If you’ve read up to this point, you’re wasting the time you could be spending listening to this. Download this now.

Elvis Depressedly – Goner

Download: (Mediafire)

– D –