Wolves in the Throne Room – ‘Celestial Lineage’

Posted on 05/09/2011

1


Celestial Lineage was by far one of 2011’s most anticipated metal releases, and justifiably so. Wolves in the Throne Room have really stepped up their game since 2009’s landmark Black Cascade, with the album featuring their signature slow-building, atmospheric soundscapes. I’ve just had my first listen of the album and it’s actually stunning in places, with songs that actually manage to capture the vastness of their vision. I’ve come to the conclusion that any of this band’s so-called ‘pretense’ is largely manufactured, and Celestial Lineage has only strengthened my opinion. It’ll take me a few more listens to truly wrap my mind around this record, because even the two interlude tracks are fascinating. Few bands combine harshness and beauty like WITTR, a fact they reinforce, and gloriously so, on this album. This is a must-listen for anyone with even a minute interest in black metal.

Wolves in the Throne Room – Celestial Lineage

Download: (Mediafire)

– D –