SLEEP ∞ OVER – Collected Singles

Posted on 10/08/2011


Crawling out from beneath the ‘witch house’ mire, SLEEP ∞ OVER is truly a diamond in a vast, bottomless ocean of shit. While the apparent ‘darkness’ of the music, the lo-fi aesthetics and, sigh, the infinity symbol in the name does somewhat justify the tag, there’s a lot more going on here than with 99% of the quasi-genre’s torchbearers. The music of SLEEP ∞ OVER, AKA Stefanie Franciotti, features lush, dream-poppy arrangements, faded vocals and an atmosphere much more melancholy and emotional than that of her so-called peers, who often seem more concerned with how many ‘▲”s they can fit into their song titles. Regardless, SLEEP ∞ OVER is set to release her/their first full-length, entitled Forever, on October 27th, and after hearing ‘Romantic Streams’, the first taster of the album, I can say with assurance that I’m psyched for its release. The song, spiralling and textural, builds on the same dreamy, ethereal foundations set by such songs as ‘Casual Diamond’ and ‘Outer Limits’, two of my favourite of her earlier tracks, and I’ve included it in a compilation of her music. While a lot of her stuff has been released on cassette, finding more than a few of her songs is relatively difficult, so this collection should include the majority of her music available online. Chex it:

SLEEP ∞ OVER – Singles

Tracklisting (Not necessarily in this order):

1. Casual Diamond

2. Casual Diamond (Laurel Halo Remix)

3. Romantic Streams

4. La Rose

5. Outer Limits

6. Your World is Night

7. Sunspots

8. Fog Juice

9. Bathsalts

Download: (Mediafire)

– D –