The Dillinger Escape Plan – Selected Covers

Posted on 10/07/2011

0


When it comes to covers, The Dillinger Escape Plan knows how to do them right. Where some bands choose to stay boringly true to the original, DEP consistently puts out some of the most inventive, entertaining tributes I’ve heard. Their version of Black Sabbath classic ‘Paranoid’, probably my favourite cover of theirs, is truly schizophrenic, lurching wildly from throat-shredding hardcore to bluesy boogie woogie, to some form of mutant swing. I’m serious. Almost as impressive is how they handled a seemingly unlikely interpretation of Aphex Twin’s ‘Come to Daddy’, from their Mike Patton collaboration EP Irony is a Dead Scene, not to mention their cover of Justin Timberlake’s ‘Like I Love You’.  I’ve put together a compilation of some of their covers, including those from the Plagiarism EP, below.

Tracklisting:

1. Honey Bucket [Melvins Cover]
2. Wish [Nine Inch Nails Cover]
3. Angel [Massive Attack Cover]
4. Like I Love You [Justin Timberlake Cover]
5. Jesus Christ Pose [Soundgarden Cover]
6. Paranoid [Black Sabbath Cover]
7. Come to Daddy [Aphex Twin Cover]
8. My Michelle [Guns N’ Roses Cover]
9. Rebel Yell [Billy Idol Cover]

Download: The Dillinger Escape Plan – Selected Covers

– D –