Torche – ‘Harmonicraft’

Posted on 19/04/2012

0


It’s hard to believe it’s been four years since Torche put out their last full-length, 2008’s Meanderthal, an album I now consider one of my all time favourites. You can imagine my excitement, then, when I got my grubby little hands all over the band’s new record, their third: Harmonicraft. I’m listening to it for the first time right now and it’s kicking my ass in all kinds of wonderful ways, not that there was ever any doubt about how great the album was going to be. I struggled to stop myself from wetting my pants with joy when the band premiered ‘Kicking’ and ‘Reverse Inverted’ and the rest of the record isn’t helping the situation much… it’s RAD. For the uninitiated (whom I pity), Torche combine sludgy riffz with sugary-sweet power pop hooks, falling somewhere in the gaping void between Superchunk and the Melvins. The result can best be described as the sonic equivalent of the below album cover, and if that’s not enough to make you want to listen then I don’t know what it is you want out of life.

Torche – Harmonicraft

Download: (Mediafire)

- D -