MIXTAPE: Stavros Giannopoulos (The Atlas Moth, Twilight)

Posted on 11/02/2012

0


For our first mixtape of 2012, we’ve got a nice lil’ playlist by Stavros Giannopoulos, guitarist and co-vocalist of psychedelic doomsters The Atlas Moth, who put out one of last year’s finest metal records in the form of An Ache For the Distance. Not only that, but the dude is also a member of (unfortunately named) black metal all stars Twilight, along with such esteemed figures as Wrest of Leviathan, Imperial of Krieg, Blake Judd of Nachtmystium and Aaron Turner of Isis. That’s to say his pedigree is hard to fuck with; and his music taste is of a similar standard, if the ten songs he selected for this mix are any indication. Download it below!

††† – ‘†his is a †rick’

I’m pretty vocal about my love of the Deftones. Back when I first heard of Team Sleep, I was pretty stoked to hear that record but it kinda fell flat for me. This EP was what i was hoping the entire Team Sleep record would sound like. Also a huge fan of Far so that is a bonus.

The Proselyte – ‘Sulfur Queen’

We played  a secret late night show after the Worchester date of the Metalliance Tour in Boston. These dudes were playing and we jumped on their bill. I was super stoked on their band that night but when iIfinally heard the record it blew me away. There is a Pepper Kennan influence on the vocals that I am just a total sucker for.

Sleep

Sleep – ‘Dragonaut’

Smoke weed everyday.

Bronski Beat – ‘Smalltown Boy’

I DJ here in chicago every week at a bar called Exit and I wind up playing a lot of random shit. I was playing some new wave one night and someone told me to check this track out. I probably listen to it 3 times a day at least.

Will Haven – ‘Harvesting Our Burdens’

So happy to have Grady recording with Will Haven again. Such a huge nerd for this band growing up and i’m stoked on this record. Definitely in my top ten of the year.

Pantha Du Prince

Pantha Du Prince – ‘Behind the Stars’

I can’t even tell you how I got hip to this dude but I’m a big fan. Can’t listen to some asshole yelling at ya all day.

Harpoon – ‘Dreadnaught’

Fuckin’ awesome band out of Chicago pushing their sound into very unchartered territories. Super stoked for these dudes to have this record out.

Crowbar – ‘Planets Collide’

On the Metalliance tour, I may not have watched Crowbar’s entire set every single night but I definitely saw them play this one every night. One of my all time favorites and it was an honor to tour with them.

The Flaming Lips

The Flaming Lips – ‘Convinced of the Hex’

What is there to say about them? They fuckin’ rule.

Hooray For Earth – ‘Black Trees’

Someone special showed me this and I fell in love immediately. I’m totally blind to this scene of music so it’s refreshing to hear something I am totally unaware of and have it blow me away. Many, many, many frequent spins.

Mixtape: Stavros Giannopoulos

Download: (Mediafire)

- D -

Posted in: Interview, Mixtape