Hammers of Misfortune – ‘17th Street’

Posted on 25/10/2011

0


Progressive rock is universally, unequivocally and objectively known as the least cool genre of music in existence, something which can be hard for the average prog nerd to accept. There was a time when I could stomach hours upon hours of drum solos, guitar wankery, concept albums and ELP worship, but, mercifully, I grew out of it. Maybe it was puberty. The point is that it takes something special to maintain my radically reduced musical attention span, and Hammers of Misfortune are one of those bands with that ability. I’m a pretty big fan of Church of Broken Glass, and what with the demise of Ludicra (they shared members with HoM), I was pretty psyched to hear about their new album, 17th Street. I’m listening to it for the first time right now and it’s really bringing me back: twin guitars (luvving that tone), epic choruses and, yes, keyboards. I can’t even begin to imagine how many bro points I’m losing here, but I couldn’t care less. This band produces albums in the fullest sense of the word, cohesive pieces which deserve listening from start to finish. And don’t get me wrong here, I’m not the kind of guy to disown stuff I used to listen to; Dream Theater and co. will always hold a special place in my heart, but, to me Hammers of Misfortune are the shit regardless of what stage in my musical development I’m in. I’m not done listening to the record, but it’s looking to be one of the finest metal releases of the year. Check out and geek out.

Hammers of Misfortune – 17th Street

Download: (Mediafire)

- D -