Dive – ‘Sometime’ 7″

Posted on 18/10/2011

4


I’ve never really been a fan of Brooklyn summer poppers Beach Fossils, but I’m definitely feeling guitarist Cole Smith’s side project Dive. He and his bandmates, one of whom was in Smith Westerns (a group whose appeal is lost on me) put out a 7″ single, Sometime, last week, and I’m liking both tracks a lot. Smothered in reverb, the title track steers clear of Beach Fossils’, uh, beach-y, surfer vibe in favour of a somewhat more melancholy, post-punk direction, an inclination buried deep beneath BF’s lo-fi ramblings. I wouldn’t categorise this as shoegaze, but ‘Corvalis’, the single’s B-side, showcases a dreamier, ethereal atmosphere which should appeal to fans of His Clancyness or Wild Nothing. Descriptive fluff aside, this is rad and I’m pretty excited to hear what Smith and co. will come up with next. Luckily for me, Dive has a second single due on November 29th, as well as a full EP slated for December. In the meantime, whet your appetite with Sometime.

Dive – Sometime 7″

Download: (Mediafire)

- D -